Open Call - Sustainable Urbanisation Global Initiative /Food-Water-Energy Nexus

The Sustainable Urbanisation Global Initiative (SUGI)/Food-Water-Energy Nexus is a call jointly established by the Belmont Forum and the Joint Programming Initiative Urban Europe.

The cooperation was established in order to bring together the fragmented research and expertise across the globe to find innovative new solutions to the Food-Water-Energy Nexus challenge.

Call open as of December 9, 2016

PNG - 97.5 kb

Aim of the call

The interactions between food, water and energy are of paramount interest to policy, science and the society at large, today and even more so in the upcoming decades. Challenges connected with population increase and food shortages, scarce water and insufficient energy resources demand solutions.

The Sustainable Urbanisation Global Initiative (SUGI)/Food-Water-Energy Nexus is a joint call established in order to bring together actors to find innovative new solutions to the Food-Water-Energy Nexus challenge. The ultimate goal is to increase the access and the quality of life.

The overall challenge today is to move to action through dialogue: from a sector oriented technocratic approach to one that recognises more diverse viewpoints and rationalities.

Belmont Forum and JPI Urban Europe have partnered to ensure participants across physical, natural, social sciences and arts and humanities as well as policy and decision makers and stakeholders around the world.

The call topics will enable the participants to develop projects that aim to find solutions to the Food-Water-Energy nexus for a sustainable urbanisation. The goal is to rapidly evolve the knowledge base, advance indicators and assessment tools that are needed for a comprehensive understanding of the FWE nexus.

Call topics

- Robust Knowledge, Indicators and Assessments
- Multi-level Governance and Management of the Food-Water-Energy Nexus
- Managing Potential Strategies and Solutions to address emerging Risk and Tradeoffs at the intersection of Sustainable Urbanisation and the Food-Water-Energy Nexus

To find the call text and proposal form, please click here.

Timeline

Call opening 9 December 2016
Pre-proposal deadline 15 March 2017
Invitations to submit full proposal May 2017
Funding decisions announced December 2017
Start of projects December 2017-March 2018
Projects end January 2021

Submission

Submission deadline pre-proposals
15 March 2017 at 1:00 p.m. EST
6:00 p.m. UTC / 7:00 p.m. CET
16 March 2017 3:00 a.m. JST

Detailed information is in the Call text.For more information and contact numbers, have a look at the website, available here.

publie le 09/01/2017

top of the page