Towards a cooperative partnership in Science and Technology : ERAfrica brings together European and African research institutes for increased collaboration

On the 24th of June 2011, representatives from 17 African countries met in Mombasa, Kenya and unanimously approved the ERAfrica project, which aims to coordinate scientific collaboration between Europe and Africa in order to foster innovation and development on the African continent.

Organised by the Kenyan Ministry of Higher Education, Science and Technology, the meeting took place on the 23rd and 24th of June and brought together government representatives from South Africa, Botswana, Burundi, Egypt, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Morocco, Mozambique, Nigeria, Uganda, Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Tanzania, Tunisia and Zimbabwe. Participants were granted the opportunity to familiarise themselves with the project and to discuss its principles, objectives and implementation mechanisms.

To mobilise European partners, a second meeting will be held in Brussels on the 21st of October after which all interested partners will meet in Alexandria, Egypt to decide on the focus areas for ERAfrica and to define the support mechanisms that are to be put into place.

About ERAfrica

ERAfrica is a geographical ERA-NET, funded by the European Union under the 7th European Framework Programme which aims to coordinate national research programmes between the European countries and other countries across the globe. The ERAfrica project, which is coordinated by the Institute for Development Research (IRD), brings together organisations from nine European countries (Germany, Austria, Belgium, Spain, Finland, France, Portugal, Switzerland and Turkey) and three African countries (South Africa, Egypt and Kenya).

Aiming to establish co-financed research projects or joint initiatives, with funding- and implementation models that guarantee the concrete impact of development projects on the ground, the project is based on the belief that it is mutually beneficial for participating countries to coordinate and unify efforts to support and promote cooperation between Europe and Africa, rather than pursuing essentially bilateral relations.

ERAfrica is committed to building an expanded network which will group together European- and African states, regional organisations and the private sector, to jointly define the priorities and modalities of funding for future collaborative research and innovation.


For more information regarding scientific cooperation between France and South Africa, please contact
Pierre Lemonde, Attaché for Science and Technology :
Tel – 012 425 1710 ; Email -
Bianca Naudé, Department for Scientific Cooperation :
Tel - 012 425 1710 ; Email -

publie le 16/07/2014

haut de la page